Baseball in America (MLB)

Major League Baseball is not only the highest level of professional baseball in America it is also the highest level of professional baseball in the world. It consists of team that play in the American League and National League and they combine to for the MLB. MLB consists of 30 teams, 29 from America and one from Canada.

The American League consists of 14 teams and the National League 16 teams, with each league further divided into three divisions – East, Central and West. Before 1997, the two leagues met on the field only during the World Series and the All-Star Game – regular-season interleague play was introduced in 1997. Those following the baseball betting will remember this.

162 games make-up the current regular season in the MLB, with the season running from early April to early October – with eeach team’s schedule being typically organised into 3-game series, with occasional 2- or 4-game series, and the rare 5-game series, with the games being grouped together as road trips or groups of home games. There is not much “off” time for the teams with games being played six times a week to get through that buys schedule. The majority of games are scheduled for night-time but some afternoon games do take place especially when teams have to travel to their next destination of play. Over the course of the season the teams are competing for one of four play-off berth for their team in each League, that is gained by winning one of the three divisions or having the next best record without having won a division (wild-card). Those who bet on baseball should bear this in mind.

When the four best teams from each of the leagues is decided, they then compete in what is called the post-season and play in the American League Division Series and National League Division Series, each a best-of-five-games series – who they play is determined by their status within their own league. The winners then advance to the American League Championship Series and National League Championship Series, each a best-of-seven-games series played between the surviving teams from the ALDS and NLDS. The winners of those two games then contest the World Series, a best -of -seven series in games between the winners of the two leagues to determine the best team in baseball for that season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *